Archives: Databases

Cypress Resume

By

Cypress Resume is an online resume and cover letter builder. It enables users to create very basic, but professional looking resumes in three steps, and it also automates simple cover letters and reference sheets. Although it’s best practice to save resumes and cover letters created with Cypress Resume to a USB drive, Google Drive, or … Continued

Driving Tests

By

(Driving-Tests.org / free access) Driving-Tests.org offers Massachusetts RMV handbooks and practice tests for those preparing to take the learner’s permit exam.

Evaluating Resources

By

(UC Berkeley / free access) The University of California Berkeley has created a useful guide to conducting research using primary sources, including information about how to evaluate sources.

Fold3

By

Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of men and women who served. You will need your Palmer Public Library card number to access this resource.

Foreign Service Journal Archive

By

(Foreign Service Association / free access) The Foreign Service Journal covers foreign affairs from an insider’s perspective, providing thought-provoking articles on international issues, the practice of diplomacy, and the US Foreign Service.

General OneFile

By

(Gale / funded by MBLC and MLS) A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general-interest topics. Includes millions of full-text articles, updated daily.

Heritage Hub

By

Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Heritage Hub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access … Continued

Heritage Quest Online

By

(ProQuest / funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners) Discover where your American past begins with this comprehensive collection of genealogical sources. It features US federal census records, local and family histories, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank records, memorials and petitions to the U.S. Congress, and the Periodical Source Index (PERSI) article citations from … Continued